North Dakota eases PTO payout rules

July 16, 2015 0 COMMENTS

by Lisa Edison-Smith

Because of new legislation taking effect August 1, private-sector employers in North Dakota will find it easier to avoid paying out unused paid time off (PTO) or vacation time when employees quit.

Under the old law, an employer was required to pay a departing employee for any PTO or vacation time that was “available for the employee to use” at the time of separation. The old rule could be expensive for employers. For example, an employee who was entitled to 12 days of PTO per year and was eligible to take the entire 12 days at the time of her separation from employment was entitled to be paid for all 12 unused days, even if she quit on January 2. That was true even if the employer had a policy saying that PTO was “earned” at a rate of one day per month.

read more…

Model notice for new Massachusetts paid sick leave law published

June 12, 2015 0 COMMENTS

by Kimberly A. Klimczuk

The Massachusetts attorney general (AG) has published a model notice that employers may use to fulfill their obligations to notify employees about the state’s new earned sick leave law that goes into effect on July 1.

In addition, the AG has issued a new “safe harbor” notice that makes it easier for employers to take advantage of the safe-harbor protection. Under that process, qualified employers will have until January 1, 2016, to bring their paid time off (PTO) and related policies into full compliance with the sick leave law.

read more…

‘Safe harbor’ available for Massachusetts paid sick time law

May 22, 2015 0 COMMENTS

The Massachusetts attorney general has announced a “safe harbor” provision that may provide relief to at least some employers covered by the state’s new earned sick time law.

The law, which voters approved in the November 4, 2014, election, takes effect on July 1, but the safe harbor gives some employers until January 1, 2016, to come into full compliance.

Under the new law, employers with at least 11 employees must allow their workers to accrue paid sick leave at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked, for a maximum of 40 hours a year. Employers with fewer than 11 employees must allow them to accrue and use up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per year.

read more…