The bill, which passed the Vermont Senate on February 10 and the House on February 17, is expected to gain Governor Peter Shumlin’s signature. Presuming the governor signs the bill, the law will go into effect on January 1, 2017, for most employers but not until January 1, 2018, for employers with five or fewer employees who are employed for an average of not less than 30 hours per week, according to N. Joseph Wonderly, an attorney with Dinse, Knapp & McAndrew, P.C., in Burlington, Vermont.
by Jeff Nolan
The substantive notice requirements of Vermont’s new law requiring warnings before mass layoffs takes effect January 15, meaning the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN Act) isn’t the only law requiring certain employers to notify employees of an impending plant closing or mass layoff.
The Vermont Notice of Potential Layoffs Act (NPLA) was signed into law in May 2014. It imposes layoff notice requirements on a broader range of employers than the WARN Act.
by Sophie Zdatny
On June 9, Governor Peter Shumlin signed House Bill 522 into law, making Vermont the first state to approve a minimum wage above the $10.10 goal set by President Barack Obama.
As of January 1, 2015, Vermont’s minimum wage will rise to $9.15, from its current level at $7.25. The minimum wage will increase to $9.60 effective January 1, 2016, and then to $10.00, effective January 1, 2017. The minimum wage will rise to $10.50 on January 1, 2018, and will continue to increase each subsequent January 1 by five percent or the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index (whichever is smaller).
by Sophie E. Zdatny
House Bill 99, titled “an act relating to equal pay,” has cleared both chambers of the Vermont Legislature and is set to be signed into law by Governor Peter Shumlin on Tuesday, May 14.
The final bill amends Vermont’s Fair Employment Practices Act to provide that an employer may pay different wage rates to employees of different sexes only when the differential wages are based on (1) a seniority system, (2) a merit system, (3) a system in which earnings are based on quality or quantity of production, or (4) a bona fide factor other than sex. Employers now will be required to show that any wage differential is based on a factor that “does not perpetuate a sex-based differential in compensation, is job-related with respect to the position in question, and is based upon a legitimate business consideration.”
The 2013 minimum hourly wage is set to go up in 10 states.
- Arizona. The rate goes from $7.65 to $7.80. The state’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on a cost-of-living formula.
- Colorado. The rate is going from $7.64 an hour to $7.78 based on an annual cost-of-living adjustment.
- Florida. The rate goes from $7.67 to $7.79 because of an annual cost-of-living adjustment.
- Missouri. The rate goes from $7.25 to $7.35 because of an annual cost-of-living adjustment.
- Montana. The rate rises from $7.65 to $7.80 based on a cost-of-living adjustment.
- Ohio. The rate goes from $7.70 to $7.85.
- Oregon. The minimum hourly rate goes from $8.80 to $8.95 because of an annual cost-of-living adjustment.
- Rhode Island. Governor Lincoln Chafee signed into law the state’s first minimum wage hike since 2007, raising the rate from $7.40 to $7.75 per hour.
- Vermont. The rate goes from $8.46 to $8.60 based on an increase in the Consumer Price Index.
- Washington. The rate goes from $9.04 to $9.19 because of an annual cost-of-living adjustment.
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Federal law requires employers in states that set their own minimum wage to pay whichever rate is higher.
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is seeking comment through February 1 on a four-year strategic plan, and it’s important for employers to know what that plan means to them.
The draft of the 2012-2016 plan calls for the agency to:
- fight employment discrimination through law enforcement;
- prevent discrimination through education and outreach; and
- improve delivery of services to the public. read more…
The minimum wage in Vermont will increase to $8.46 per hour from $8.15 per hour on January 1, 2012, according to a statement from the Vermont Department of Labor.
The state minimum wage increases at the same rate as the Consumer Price Index, as calculated in August, for the preceding year or at five percent, whichever is less.
As the new year approaches, a number of states will see index-driven increases to their minimum wage rates. Specifically, Arizona, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont, and Washington will each add around 10 cents per hour to their existing wage rates, based on an increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) of a little more than one percent from August 2009 to August 2010. Two other states, Florida and Missouri, have chosen not to adjust their indexed wages.
In Arizona, the state minimum wage will increase from $7.25 to $7.35 per hour and will remain at that rate throughout the next year. Tipped employees’ hourly wages also will increase 10 cents, from $4.25 to $4.35. The new minimum wage must be posted in an area where employees can read the poster, such as the break room.