Another New Jersey city requires paid sick time

by Michael H. Dell

Morristown has joined the list of New Jersey cities that require employers to provide paid sick time to employees. Employers in Morristown have until January 11 to come into compliance with the city’s paid sick time ordinance, which was passed in September.

Under the ordinance, employers with 10 or more employees in Morristown must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick time, while employers with nine or fewer employees in the city must provide up to 25 hours of paid sick time. In determining the number of employees it has, an employer must count full-time, part-time, and temporary employees.

read more…

Elizabeth is latest New Jersey city to require paid sick leave

by James M. Leva

Elizabeth will be the 10th New Jersey municipality to require employers to provide paid sick leave when a new law takes effect on March 2.

Elizabeth’s law largely mirrors laws passed in Bloomfield, East Orange, Irvington, Jersey City, Montclair, Newark, Passaic, Paterson, and Trenton.

The Elizabeth law applies to all private employers regardless of size, but the amount of paid sick leave employees are eligible to take varies based on the employer’s total number of employees.

read more…

New Jersey cities getting paid sick leave laws

by Kevin J. Skelly

Paid sick leave laws are gaining ground in New Jersey, as new laws in several cities are scheduled to take effect in the coming weeks and months.

Paterson, Irvington, Passaic, Newark, East Orange, Jersey City, Trenton, and Montclair have passed laws either in city councils or, in the case of Trenton and Montclair, in the November general election.

Jersey City was the first city in the state to pass a paid sick time law, with its law going into effect in January 2014. Newark’s law took effect in May. The laws in Paterson, Irvington, East Orange, and Passaic go into effect in January 2015. Voters in Trenton and Montclair passed versions of a paid sick leave law in the November election, and their laws are to take effect March 4.

read more…

New Jersey joins states with ‘ban the box’ laws

by Jeffrey A. Gruen

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie has signed the state’s “ban the box” legislation, meaning that most employers will be prohibited from asking applicants about their criminal histories until the conclusion of the first job interview.

The legislature passed the Opportunity to Compete Act in June, and Christie signed it on August 11. It will go into effect March 1, 2015. The law applies to New Jersey employers with 15 or more employees over 20 calendar weeks.

read more…

Newark paid sick leave law to take effect May 29

May 08, 2014 - by: Tony Kessler 0 COMMENTS

by Joseph C. Nuzzo, Jr.

Most employees in Newark, New Jersey, will begin earning paid sick leave time on May 29.

The new ordinance, which was passed in January, allows employees in the city to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick leave each year. The ordinance doesn’t apply to public employees or employees who are members of construction unions.

Employers with 10 or more workers will have to allow up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year. Employers with fewer than 10 employees will be required to give employees up to 24 hours of paid sick time per year. Childcare workers, home healthcare workers, and food service workers will be eligible for 40 hours of paid sick leave per year regardless of their employer’s size.

read more…

New Jersey vote puts minimum wage hikes in state constitution

November 07, 2013 - by: Tammy Binford 0 COMMENTS

by Tammy Binford

The ballot question making changes to New Jersey’s minimum wage was presented to voters in the November 5 election and passed easily, but many business leaders are uneasy about the change.

By a 60-40 percent vote, voters passed Public Question 2, which will raise the state’s minimum wage from $7.25 to $8.25 per hour on January 1, 2014. In addition to the $1 increase, the ballot question will amend the New Jersey constitution to ensure that the state minimum wage will automatically rise with inflation.

read more…

New Jersey social media privacy law takes effect December 1

by David K. Reid

Employers need to be ready for New Jersey’s new social media privacy law, which takes effect December 1. The law prohibits employers from requiring applicants and employees to disclose their user names and passwords for personal social media accounts or otherwise provide access to their accounts.

The law doesn’t apply to an employee’s social media account that is used for business purposes. The new law allows employers to access employees’ or applicants’ social media pages that are shared publicly. Also, after receiving specific information, employers may investigate a violation of law, employee misconduct, or the unauthorized transfer of proprietary, confidential, or financial information via an employee’s personal social media account.

read more…

Categories: New Jersey

Tags: ,

New Jersey domestic violence leave law takes effect October 1

Employers in New Jersey with at least 25 employees must provide up to 20 days of unpaid leave to employees affected by domestic violence as of October 1, when the New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment (SAFE) Act takes effect.

Under the law, employers must allow leave to any employee who is a victim of a domestic violence incident or a sexually violent offense or to any employee whose child, parent, spouse, or partner is the victim of such an incident.

read more…