Obama takes steps toward requiring paid sick leave

January 15, 2015 - by: Tammy Binford 0 COMMENTS

by Tammy Binford

Is it a sensible plan to boost productivity and give workers the help they deserve, or is it an unaffordable, unfair mandate on already overburdened employers? President Barack Obama’s announcement of a push to pass a paid sick leave law is likely to garner both reactions.

Valerie Jarrett, a senior adviser to Obama and chair of the White House Council on Women and Girls, launched the effort January 14 with a post on the career-centered social network LinkedIn, a venue chosen because of its high profile with employers.

read more…

New California law on immigrant discrimination takes effect January 1

by Alka Ramchandani

A new California law taking effect January 1 clarifies a previous law prohibiting immigrant-related discrimination.

Last year, a law creating California Labor Code Section 1019 was enacted. That law makes it unlawful for an employer or any other person to engage in—or direct another person to engage in—any “unfair immigration-related practice” against a worker in retaliation for exercising a legal right.

Unfair immigration-related practices include requesting more or different documents than are required under law, threatening to file a false police report, using the federal E-Verify system to check the status of an employee in a time and manner not required by law, or threatening to contact immigration authorities.

read more…

San Francisco ‘ban the box’ ordinance starts August 13

by Andrew J. Sommer and Alka Ramchandani

San Francisco’s new “ban the box” law, titled the Fair Chance Ordinance, will limit the timing and scope of inquiries into an applicant’s or employee’s criminal history when it takes effect August 13.

In addition to banning inquiries into criminal history on job applications, the ordinance also places significant restrictions on an employer’s ability to obtain and use that information in the hiring process.

read more…

California minimum wage will hit $9 on July 1

by Michael Futterman and Jaime Touchstone

As fast-food and other low-wage workers protest for pay raises and President Barack Obama pushes for a higher federal minimum wage, California employers need to prepare for a $1 increase in the state’s minimum wage. California’s minimum wage will rise to $9 an hour on July 1 before hitting $10 an hour in 2016.

Certain types of employees such as outside salespersons, apprentices, and learners may be exempt from minimum wage requirements, but in general, the requirements apply regardless of whether employees are paid on an hourly, commission, or salaried basis. Under the California Wage Orders, employees are considered learners during the first 160 hours of employment in occupations in which they have no related experience. Learners may not be paid less than 85 percent of the minimum wage, rounded to the nearest nickel.

read more…

Categories: California / Minimum Wage

Tags: ,

New California law grants domestic workers overtime pay

by Cathleen S. Yonahara

A new California law taking effect January 1, 2014, grants overtime pay for at least the next three years to domestic workers who are personal attendants.

Under old state law, “personal attendants” are exempt from statutory overtime and meal and rest break provisions, but they are not exempt from minimum wage requirements.

A personal attendant is defined as any person employed by a private householder or any third-party employer recognized in the healthcare industry to work in a private household to supervise, feed, or dress a child or a person who by reason of advanced age, physical disability, or mental deficiency needs supervision. To have personal attendant status, the employee may not spend more than 20 percent of his or her weekly work time engaged in other duties.

read more…

Employers need to be ready for new California law on same-sex harassment

by Tara K. Clancy and Kristine W. Hanson

A new California law means employees who file same-sex harassment cases should have an easier time getting relief from the courts. Senate Bill (SB) 292, which was signed into law in August and takes effect in January, means employees don’t have to have evidence that sexual desire is behind sexual harassment. Instead, liability may arise from comments or actions based on gender alone.

Before the new law, sexual harassment required a showing that the conduct was motivated by sexual desire. SB 292 expressly provides that conduct may be considered sexual harassment even if it isn’t motivated by sexual desire. As a result, the new law expands the realm of actions for which an employer may be liable based on the acts of its employees.

read more…

San Francisco employers soon must consider flexible work requests

by Cathleen S. Yonahara

San Francisco’s new Family Friendly Workplace Ordinance takes effect January 1, 2014, meaning covered private employers in the city must consider employees’ requests for flexible or predictable working arrangements to assist with their caregiving responsibilities.

Employers that directly or indirectly employ at least 20 employees are covered. When calculating the number of workers they employ, employers must include employees hired through temporary services or staffing agencies. The ordinance applies to any employee who works within the geographic boundaries of San Francisco, has been employed by a covered employer for at least six months, and regularly works at least eight hours per week.

read more…

Governor signs bill raising California minimum wage

by Cathleen Yonahara

On September 25, California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. signed Assembly Bill (AB) 10, which will raise the state minimum wage in stages to $10 per hour. Employers will be required to raise wages to $9 per hour by July 1, 2014, and to $10 per hour by January 1, 2016. The current minimum wage is $8 per hour.

This is the first minimum wage increase in California in five years. Some Bay Area cities and counties already have raised their minimum wages this year. San Francisco’s minimum wage is $10.55, and San Jose’s is $10.

read more…

California’s minimum wage expected to increase to $10

by Cathleen S. Yonahara

On September 12, a bill that would increase California’s minimum wage passed the California Legislature and was sent to Governor Jerry Brown for his signature. Governor Brown has expressed support for the bill, stating, “This legislation is overdue and will help families that are struggling in this harsh economy.”

Assembly Bill (AB) 10 would raise the current state minimum wage of $8 per hour to $10. Employers would be required to raise wages to $9 per hour by July 1, 2014, and $10 per hour by January 1, 2016. This would be the first minimum wage increase in California in five years. Some Bay Area cities and counties have already raised their minimum wages this year. San Francisco’s minimum wage is $10.55, and San Jose’s is $10.

read more…

New California laws affecting employers take effect January 1

by Jim Brown

California employers will have several new laws to deal with as of January 1, 2013. Of particular interest are measures affecting social media passwords, religious dress and grooming standards, and commission agreements.

Social media passwords

read more…

 Page 3 of 4 « 1  2  3  4 »